Rust-analyzer failed to discover workspace

Hi, I'm try to configure the rust-analyzer extension to work with VSCode, but I'm running into a rust-analyzer failed to discover workspace error. I am on Windows 10, attempting a simple "hello world" project. rustc main.rs works and compiles, program runs. I'm new to Rust; so maybe I'm missing something...

I've made sure rust-src is installed (it was not installed automatically with the extension):

$ rustup component list
cargo-x86_64-pc-windows-msvc (installed) 
clippy-x86_64-pc-windows-msvc (installed) 
llvm-tools-preview-x86_64-pc-windows-msvc
rls-x86_64-pc-windows-msvc
rust-analysis-x86_64-pc-windows-msvc
rust-docs-x86_64-pc-windows-msvc (installed)
rust-src (installed)

I have tried on both "stable" and "nightly" update channels:

rust-analyzer version: 2020-08-17 (0b2b9a5)
rust-analyzer version: nightly (7d95a84)

I have configured the following recommended debugging settings:

"rust-analyzer.trace.extension": true,
"rust-analyzer.trace.server": "verbose",

as well as configuring RA_LOG=info in the environment.

Trying to run Status results in:

Command 'Rust Analyzer: Status' resulted in an error (cannot open rust-analyzer-status://status. Detail: Rust Analyzer is still loading...)

Output > Rust Analyzer Language Server does not show up in the output panel, despite the environment variable being set (I'm assuming because RA isn't starting.)

Server Trace is hammering the output window with tons of:

[Trace - 3:02:44 AM] Received response 'rust-analyzer/inlayHints - (142)' in 0ms. Request failed: Rust Analyzer is still loading... (-32801).
[Trace - 3:02:45 AM] Sending request 'rust-analyzer/inlayHints - (143)'.
Params: {
    "textDocument": {
        "uri": "file:///c%3A/Users/coryr/source/repos/rust-hello-world/main.rs"
    }
}

Client output window is peppered with tons of:

WARN [8/18/2020, 3:00:53 AM]: LSP request timed out {
  method: 'rust-analyzer/inlayHints',
  param: {
    textDocument: {