In VSCode, rust-analyzer features (such as code completion) doesn't work in certain conditions

There's an issue with the rust-analyzer extension in vscode: the features, especially code completion, in the extension doesn't work if I start vscode and open the folder to a directory and then go to sub-directories to open a rust file. The features only work when I open a rust file via vscode. Whenever I type something in, the vscode auto-completion only appears. When I install other extensions for other languages that includes coding completion such as java, it is guaranteed to work, unlike for rust-analyzer. I'm fairly new to rust, and I need help.

I don't know why it is like that, and I need help fixing it. I use Linux as my operating system and vscode as my editor. Any help would be appreciated

I don't use vscode. But I know that a common vscode problem is neglecting to create a Cargo.toml file using, for example, cargo new.

1 Like

Could you clarify exactly what isn't working for you? I agree that I have seen that rust-analyzer doesn't start running checks until the first time you open a Rust .rs file. But what is this preventing you from doing? You need to open a Rust file to work on Rust code, no? Is it just the time that you have to wait?

By the latter I believe they mean it only works when they run code SOURCE_FILE at the command line.

1 Like

I'm sorry that I couldn't really word it. It's whenever I open a folder with vscode and then open the source file when my cargo project is the sub-directory, rust-analyzer works. If I put the cargo project in another folder and then opening the source file, rust-analyzer doesn't work. This also happens when I create a new rust file without using cargo. The below images are here to prove it

One additional thing: while I was testing, a notification popped up saying the document highlighting failed for some reason
and this was the output

Panic context:
> 
version: 0.3.1860-standalone