Game development in Rust – Current state

I'm not working as a game developer and I have no real experience in game development either (other than teaching some very basic game programming for educational purposes in Scratch and Python). That said, I would like to learn more about game programming.

Looking at some libraries for Rust, I got pointed to the Entity-Component-System concept, which I found quite interesting, and I did experiment myself with that by following a small tutorioal for writing a tiny ECS in Rust. I tried to improve it by using better suited data structures, but didn't do much more. (Side note: I had to deal with downcasting using std::any which behaved a bit surprising, but finally understood that I need to implement methods in each downcastable type.)

I found some websites such as:

But overall it seems like I would need to take a deeper look at each available framework to get an overview, but I thought I might ask this forum if other people made some experiences with these frameworks (or ECS crates). There are seem to be different ones, many "inspired" by others.

I generally like minimalistic approaches rather than huge dependency trees, but I'm also open to try larger frameworks if it's worth using them.

If there are more websites dealing with these issues, feel free to post any links in that matter.

P.S.: How is the progress of Rust support in regard to the "big players" in the gaming world, such as Unity? (I never used Unity myself.)

1 Like

In my view, Rust game engines are kinda split into two camps at the moment:

• Frameworks: mostly focus on 2D games and aren't too opinionated about how you structure your code. Generally they aim for a similar abstraction level as libraries like MonoGame, Love2D and Raylib, and do not aim to provide stuff like an editor or a complex asset pipeline.