Found two editors with built-in rust support

Since I am new to Rust, I don't know if there are as yet any usable IDEs for rust, but I do find two editors with built-in rust support. They are Notepad++ and Vim. Here are two screenshots I just took:

I hope someone could tell me that there is a better solution, I mean, usable IDEs including automatic invocation of compiler and debugger.

The IntelliJ IDEA IDE has a Rust plugin that works really well and integrates nicely with Cargo. It can highlight incorrect syntax and also provides code completion and all the other good things an IDE should have. It also has a plugin for Cargo's TOML files: it can even install the package automatically when you make a change to it.

6 Likes

Rust support is good in most editors these days
Personally I use Rust Enhanced which is a plug-in for Sublime Text

Syntax highlighting
Code completion (with RLS on)
Build within the editor
Syntax checking (automatically on save)
TOML highlighting

Have a look at the readme.

It lacks a debugger though, so if you want that you could loook at the Rust plugin for visual studio code

3 Likes

Builder, the best IDE for Rust Apps/Builder - GNOME Wiki!

1 Like

I use VS Code for editing, along with the Rust (rls) plugin. It provides highlighting, code completion, syntax checking and all that. I prefer compiling and running tests from the command line though.

Rust is better off than C/C++ in that building, running tests, or generating docs is stupidly easy, you just need to run cargo build, cargo test, or cargo doc respectively.

3 Likes

I too use VS Code for Rust which is surprisingly a darn good editor.

Does the profiler work well with Rust out of the box?

You might find https://areweideyet.com useful. It gives an overview of the state of Rust support in a number of editors and IDEs.

9 Likes

Thank you! This is the most valuable info!