Feedback request: a client library for HyperDex

Hi guys,

I'm a member of the HyperDex dev team and I have been developing a client binding in Rust. HyperDex is a distributed key-value store akin to Cassandra but with some novel features and better performance. We are developing this Rust binding because we really like how Rust champions performance as well as safety, the two traits that HyperDex also values.

However, since I'm relatively new to Rust, I'm not entirely sure if my API is idiomatic/ergonomic. Therefore, I'd really appreciate if someone could take a look at the following example and tell me if there are any ways to make the API better.

Link

Here is the project: GitHub - derekchiang/rust-hyperdex: A Rust binding for HyperDex You can find complete examples in src/test.rs. The README also links to the documentation, although due to link limits I can't post it here.

An Example

Let's first declare some constants:

static coord_addr: &'static str = "127.0.0.1:1982";

static space_name: &'static str = "contacts";

static space_desc: &'static str = "
space contacts
key username
attributes first, last, int age
subspace first, last
create 2 partitions
tolerate 2 failures";

In order, these constants specify the address the HyperDex coordinator is listening at, the name of the space we are using, and the description of the space. In HyperDex parlance, a space is like a table, whereas a description is like the schema of a table.

To create a space, we need to first create an Admin.

let admin = Admin::new(from_str(coord_addr).unwrap()).unwrap();

Then we create a space:

match admin.add_space(space_desc) {
    Ok(()) => (),
    Err(err) => panic!(err),  // deal with the error appropriately
};

Now we create a Client object that we will use to manipulate data.

let mut client = Client::new(from_str(coord_addr).unwrap()).unwrap();

Now we put some objects:

match client.put(space_name, "derek", NewHyperObject!(
    "first", "Derek",
    "last", "Chiang",