Need review of code that uses rocket and mutex

This is my first attempt at creating a Rocket API server and my first time using std::sync::Mutex. I'd love to get some feedback on whether my approach can be improved. It's relatively short (less than 100 lines of actual code) and implements CRUD operations on a collection of structs that describe dogs.
See https://github.com/mvolkmann/rust-rocket-demo/blob/master/src/main.rs. Once I get this vetted, maybe it can serve as a good example for others new to Rocket.

It seems reasonable at a first glance.

Please be aware that if you ever make any of the routes an async fn, you need to be aware of some details when using the std mutex. You can read about these details here. This is not to say you are doing anything wrong now.

3 Likes

The dogs don't seem to need to be mutable, so you might want to instead store Arc<Dog> to reduce the cost of cloning them.

1 Like

I assume you are referring to the create_dog and update_dog functions.
I haven't used Arc yet.
Could you show me what the code would look like in one of those functions if I use that instead of cloning?

I'm referring to the storage itself, you could store a HashMap<String, Arc<Dog>>. You'll just have to sprinkle in a few Arc::news to create the Arcs, but everything else should mostly be the same. And of course return Arc<Dog> from the functions instead of just Dog.

I suspected my attempt to learn how to use Arc would fail and I was right. :wink:
Can you look at this and tell me what I'm doing wrong with Arc?
https://github.com/mvolkmann/rust-rocket-demo/blob/master/src/main.rs

I believe the return values should be Json<Arc<Dog>>.

Are you saying I should change the return type specified for the create_dog and update_dog functions? I tried changing those to Json<Arc<Dog>>, but that gives the error "the trait _::_serde::Serialize is not implemented for std::sync::Arc<Dog>" which I think makes sense.