Exercism desperately needs Rust mentors

Hi, people. I have been learning Rust with the help of Exercism.

It's a fun way to learn a new language. I recommend it for any Rust newbie like me.

That said, I am waiting more than a week for a mentor to review the last submission of mine, so I asked Exercism admins for help. That was the answer:

"We don't have many Rust mentors but they have hundreds of solutions per week to review. We desperately need more Rust mentors."

So, I am asking you guys to join Exercism as a way to foster Rust community growth. Exercism tasks are fun, short exercises easy to review for any Rust programmer.

Thank you.

https://exercism.io/mentor/registrations/new

20 Likes

Ok, I wouldn't mind to mentor people on exercism, but since I'm not a rust expert, I will first follow the mentored track myself. Just subscribed. If I feel comfortable after that I will mentor.

That's exactly what I plan to do myself, najamelan. I remember from the time when I was learning C++ that helping other people was a great way to polish my own knowledge.

Thank you very much.

I had heard of Exercism but never really looked into it; I guess it's time to mentors.add(self), then :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Thanks for posting this. It's sad that there's a lot of solutions remaining in the queue for a long time. Added myself and invited a friend of mine! :smiley:

4 Likes

I shall be joining the legion, too. Let's clean up that backlog!

6 Likes

Thank you for the heads up! I just joined and mentored a couple of waiting solutions.

1 Like

I kinda want to mentor as well, but figure I should complete the track first... which exerbates the problem for now, but should help in the long run! Thanks to everyong who's mentoring already :slight_smile:

1 Like

FWIW, you can follow the Rust track yourself and mentor solutions to exercises you've already completed simultaneously. I've just become a mentor even though I've only solved about 40% of all Rust exercises.

2 Likes