Dynamic struct creation,

Hey guys,

I am new to Rust and have been working through the book. I am simultaneously working on a small project so that I can try things out on my own.

My project requires that I create new users and I want to store the user info in a text file. My trouble is as follows:

1. To create a struct that dynamically takes user input. All tutorials always use static data but I want to build the struct from user input via console.Ideally, I want to create a function that takes user input and appends it to the struct in one go.

2. To write an entire struct or tuple to a text file. At this point I can write one of the data fields of the struct to the file, but not all at once.

Any guidance will be appreciated.

It'd be nice if you'd paste the code in directly and format it.
Nevertheless, on to your actual questions.

1. Structs don't take user input. They serve exactly one purpose - to store data. So, what I think you want to do is simply to store all the fields in a struct. Judging by your code, you have succeeded in doing so. So not entirely sure what your question is, some elaboration would help.
  2. From what you've mentioned, I think you want to do something like write!(&mut file, "{}", data).unwrap() and write the data in one go. The proper way to do that would be to implement the Display trait and then you'd be able to use the syntax I mentioned (traits and how they are used is in a later chapter in the book, so you'd have to read on).
    Alternatively, you can write a function of the form - fn write_data(user: &Data, file: &mut File) or preferably using an impl block - fn write(&self, file: &mut File). Then write the data out field by field.