Recommended way to create struct without a lot of duplication

Hello,

I am fairly new to Rust and I'd like to learn what is the best/recommended way to read struct fields (from a file, for example) without a lot of memory duplication.

Let me exemplify what I mean. Take the following C++ code:

struct foo {
  int bar;
  string baz;
};

foo make_foo_from_stdin() {
  foo f;
  cin >> f.bar >> f.baz;
}

We're reading a foo instance directly from stdin, with no intermediate variables.

In Rust, how could we do this? Is there a way?
The best I know would be something along the lines of:
(not an exact replica because of C++'s streams processing of whitespace and all that)

struct Foo {
  bar: i32,
  baz: String,
}

fn make_foo_from_stdin() -> std::io::Result<Foo> {
  let mut buf = String::new();
  let stdin = std::io::stdin();
  stdin.read_line(buf)?;
  let bar: i32 = buf.parse();
  buf.clear();
  stdin.read_line(buf)?;

Ok(Foo { bar, buf })
}

This is harder to read, harder to maintain (we possibly have to duplicate a lot of the struct's fields into local variables) and less efficient (we possibly have to duplicate a lot of memory).

I'm sure I'm doing something very wrong here, so I'd love to know how to properly do something like this in Rust.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

First of all, you should not worry about “duplicate a lot of the struct's fields into local variables”. The compiler is good at eliminating unnecessary memory copies, and even a few extra copies are likely to be unnoticeable unless you are writing a bulk data processing program that works on very large inputs.

Second, there are a lot of ways in which the cin >> C++ approach as you've written it is actually worse. For example, if the input is not a number (including if EOF is encountered), it will (if I remember correctly — it's been years since I touched C++ IO) fill the field with 0 leave the field uninitialized instead of immediately signaling an error.