Confused by lifetimes

Hello,

I'm quite new to Rust and still trying to figure out some of these basics.

I'm getting an error when I try to create a Vec of &str, then return it. The specific error is:
error: missing lifetime specifier [E0106]
pub fn get_peers<'a>() -> &'a Vec<&str> {
^~~~ is pointing at the & in '&str'

I'm doing much more than this but when I trim out the unrelated parts the code is:

pub fn get_peers<'a>() -> &'a Vec<&str> {
    let mut peer_array: Vec<&str> = Vec::new();
    peer_array;
}

I've spent a number of hours messing around with this, sure someone else who knows what they are doing immediately see the error?

Thank you!

The compiler is complaining about a missing lifetime specifier for &str. Your saying your function returns a vector of strings references, but not saying what are the liftime of those references.

In your case, &str generally have a static lifetime (unless they are created from a String), so something that would compile and probably work for you is:

pub fn get_peers<'a>() -> &'a Vec<&str>

Alternatively, you could use the same lifetime specifier as you are using for the borrow of Vec:

pub fn get_peers<'a>() -> &'a Vec<&'a str>

Which is basically saying that the string borrows inside the Vec have to last as long as the Vec itself.

Finally, you probably don't want to return a reference to a Vec, but rather a Vec by itself:

pub fn get_peers() -> Vec<&'static str>

Here's a full example: (http://is.gd/oWUxxc)

pub fn get_peers() -> Vec<&'static str> {
    let mut peer_array: Vec<&str> = Vec::new();
    peer_array
}

fn main() {
    let mut foo = get_peers();
    foo.push("hello");
}
1 Like

Side-note, when you want to return a value, don't use a semicolon. Terminating the statement prevents the value from passing through. Or you can explicitly say return peer_array; and a semicolon is fine.

1 Like