}
    }
}

fn main() {
    let mut storage = Storage::new();
    storage.test();
}

Rust gave me the following error:

error[E0495]: cannot infer an appropriate lifetime for lifetime parameter in function call due to conflicting requirements

I am pretty new to rust language and of course I have some pain with lifetimes. I don't know what to do exactly to solve this problem, I just want to define a storage instance that lives longer than the elements and references to these elements it stores.

Any help appreciated.

Eric

I think you have answered your question yourself - you are cannot store a reference to an element that outlives the element. It is unsound since you'd eventually have a dangling pointer, and Rust simply won't allow it. In fact, even in C, using a dangling pointer is UB.
What you might be looking for is a reference-counted solution - which for Rust would be Rc. You can store the elements in an Rc, which ensures that the element is dropped only when it has no references to it stored anywhere.

1 Like

Using Rc (you can also use Arc if you work with threads), I could fix the code as follows:

+use std::rc::Rc;
+
 pub struct Element {
     pub flag: u32,
 }

-pub struct Storage<'a> {
-    pub elements: Vec<Element>,
-    pub elements_to_modify: Vec<&'a Element>,
+pub struct Storage {
+    pub elements: Vec<Rc<Element>>,
+    pub elements_to_modify: Vec<Rc<Element>>,
 }

-impl<'a> Storage<'a> {
-    pub fn new() -> Storage<'a> {
+impl Storage {
+    pub fn new() -> Storage {
         Storage {
             elements: Vec::new(),
             elements_to_modify: Vec::new(),
         }
     }

-    pub fn add_to_modify(&mut self, ele: &'a mut Element) {
+    pub fn add_to_modify(&mut self, ele: Rc<Element>) {
         self.elements_to_modify.push(ele);
     }

pub fn test(&mut self) {
         // temporary vector to iterater over self and modify self later
-        let mut tmp: Vec<&'a mut Element> = Vec::new();