Understanding (Static) Lifetimes

Hi there,

I am still new to Rust and while I think I understand lifetimes, I still struggle on occasions. Like this one. I am trying to do something seemingly simple here. I got it to work using the compiler errors (which are very good) as a guide, but I would like to understand what I have actually done here. I would much appreciate if someone could talk me though this. So here is the code in question:

pub struct EntityImporter<'a, 'b> {
    repositories: &'a Vec<Repository>,
    entity_pool: &'b EntityPool,
}

impl EntityImporter {
    pub fn new(repos: &Vec<Repository>, pool: &EntityPool) -> EntityImporter {
        EntityImporter {
            repositories: repos,
            entity_pool: pool,
        }
    }
}

The compiler tells me explicit lifetime required in the type of repos; lifetime 'static required and explicit lifetime required in the type of pool; lifetime 'static required. Interesting. I change the code to

impl EntityImporter {
    pub fn new(repos: &'static Vec<Repository>, pool: &'static EntityPool) -> EntityImporter {
        EntityImporter {
        }
    }
}

...and the error goes away.

Q1: Why is a static lifetime required here? What do the 'static lifetimes mean here? I understand they don't mean "this reference will live as long as the program" (there are various articles explaining that to be a misconception), but I don't understand what it actually means. I make the suggested change.

pub fn new(repos: &'static Vec<Repository>, pool: &'static EntityPool) -> EntityImporter {...}

Now, I am still left with missing lifetime specifiers; expected 2 lifetime parameters; help: this function's return type contains a borrowed value, but the signature does not say whether it is borrowed from repos or pool.