Can't get Emacs going with racer and flycheck

So I've been trying to set up Emacs for Rust using this guide, but I'm completely stuck. I've installed all the Emacs packages, racer seems to be working in the terminal, my emacs config seems okay. But nothing except simple highlighting (rust-mode stuff) and an autocompleter that doesn't seem to Rust-specific (Company I think) actually work inside Emacs. No syntax checker, no jump to definition, no keyboard shortcuts. I'm not that experienced with Emacs, so I just have absolutely no idea what might be wrong or how to find out. Emacs config here. Any help would be appreciated.

Hey Morten,

Couple thoughts:
First, there are a few things funky about your emacs config. The lambda form in your rust-mode-hook shouldn't be quoted. I have a working setup with Racer, company etc. that is a bit simpler. I've changed some of your emacs configs to use the way I did it, and I got your config to do show racer completions with company. .emacs for rust - Pastebin.com

I got my own company/racer configurations straight from the source: https://github.com/racer-rust/emacs-racer

If it doesn't work, definitely test that racer completion works from the command-line. That's always a good sanity check: RUST_SRC_PATH=/home/morten/.rust/src <path/to/racer>/racer complete std::io::B

Hope that gets you going. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yes, that's the first step to test. I had problems making racer work within Emacs too. Which version of Emacs are you using? Mine is Emacs 24.5.1. I'm not using flycheck though. Type:

M-x package-list-packages

And search for your company, rust-mode, and racer versions. Mine are:

company            0.8.12
racer              20150925.1415
rust-mode          20150828.2055

My rust-mode and racer config in .emacs is:

;; Rust                                                                             
(add-to-list 'load-path "/Users/jan/git/rust-mode/")
(autoload 'rust-mode "rust-mode" nil t)