Why can't the compiler elide this lifetime?

Hi guys, first post. I am a beginner.

Trying to wrap my head around lifetimes, as many beginners are. I honestly thought it had clicked, but then I tried out this useless, but simple code.

fn main() { }

fn longest(x: &str, y: &str) -> &str {
    x
}

Which gives:

error[E0106]: missing lifetime specifier
  --> src/main.rs:39:33
   |
39 | fn longest(x: &str, y: &str) -> &str {
   |               ----     ----     ^ expected named lifetime parameter
   |
   = help: this function's return type contains a borrowed value, but the signature does not say whether it is borrowed from `x` or `y`
help: consider introducing a named lifetime parameter
   |
39 | fn longest<'a>(x: &'a str, y: &'a str) -> &'a str {
   |           ^^^^    ^^^^^^^     ^^^^^^^     ^^^

I do not understand: how can Rust not elide that (in my eyes obviously!) the returned reference is going to need to have the same lifetime as the reference to x. I understand that the error says "the signature does not say whether it is borrowed from x or y". But why does this have to be a problem for an intelligent compiler i.e. the compiler sees the body of the function right?

I mean, if I can see it, why can the compiler not?

That's exactly it, the compiler doesn't look at the body to check the signature. Rust will never use the body of the function to infer any part of the signature. This let's you write forward compatible signatures when you want or precise signatures when necessary. But the compiler can't know which is preferred so it forces you to decide

5 Likes

Note the distinction between type inference and lifetime elision.

Inference is smart. It looks at all the details, and runs a complicated algorithm to find something that works.

Whereas elision is basic. It has a few simple rules, and applies them straightforwardly without checking to see if they fit with your code -- it'll happily apply elision rules that result in borrowck errors later.