Why doesn't the compiler use max lifetime automatically?

Given code like

fn main() {
    let string1 = String::from("abcd");
    let string2 = "xyz";

let result = longest(string1.as_str(), string2);
    println!("The longest string is {}", result);
}

fn longest(x: &str, y: &str) -> &str {
    if x.len() > y.len() {
        x
    } else {
        y
    }
}

(The same example at playground)

This obviously fails as explained in the documentation but I have to wonder, is there some reason the compiler doesn't simply use the obvious interpretation that lifetime is minimum lifetime of all the inputs and outputs?

I'm new to Rust but it would seem obvious to me that given a signature like

fn foo(a: &t1, b: &t2, c: &t3, ...) -> &t4

it would always be safe to automatically cover everything with a single lifetime:

fn foo<'a>(a: &'a t1, b: &'a t2, c: &'a t3, ...) -> &'a t4

The compiler already suggests this in the error message. Is there some simple reason I'm failing to understand which prevents rustc from defaulting to this and the programmer would need to declare only non-default (non-minimal) lifetimes manually if the default interpretation would require lifetimes that wouldn't be practical for the given function?

Simply because the minimum is not always what you want. Sometimes you want the maximum. Sometimes you want something in-between. The point being, you want a output lifetime tied to the lifetime of some input. Any assumptions of which lifetime is probably going to be wrong.
This question reminds me of a comment I had once seen on Reddit: "If the compiler knows that I'm missing a semi-colon, why doesn't it insert it and move on?". The answer is the same - it's not something that can be guessed and hence it doesn't do that.

6 Likes