Which is more idiomatic? Functional, imperative or a mix?

Hi

I'm looking for advice / comments on what is the preferred idiomatic approach to writing Rust code. I'm doing the exercises on exercism.io, and as a Python/C/JavaScript programmer, I'm really enjoying learning Rust. I've also programmed in Scheme, FORTH, CoffeeScript, Fortran, and a few other obscure languages. Hence, my curiosity about what I thought would be a 'C'-like imperative language, actually seems to lean more towards a functional style.

My two examples (probably not that good; I am a naive Rust programmer!) are to solve the Largest Series Product on exercism.io.

The first is functional:

#[derive(Debug)]
pub enum Error {
    Digit,
    Window,
}

pub fn lsp(digits: &str, size: u32) -> Result<u32, Error> {
    if size == 0 { return Ok(1) };
    digits
        .chars()
        .map(|c| c.to_digit(10).ok_or(Error::Digit))
        .collect::<Result<Vec<u32>, _>>()
        .and_then(|numbers| {
            numbers
                .windows(size as usize)
                .map(|w| w.iter().product())
                .max()This text will be hidden
                .ok_or(Error::Window)
        })
}

The second is imperative/mutual style:

#[derive(Debug)]
pub enum Error {
    Digit,
    Window,
}

// to calcuate the products over the string, we need to keep an array of the product that we want
// to do from the digits.  multipication is quite quick, so rather than dividing by the last digit
// and then multiplying by the new digit, we'll just recalculate the whole product.

let mut prod = vec![0u32; size as usize];
    let mut pointer: usize = 0;
    let mut max_value: u32 = 0;
    let mut count: u32 = 0;
    for c in digits.chars() {
        count += 1;
        prod[pointer] = c.to_digit(10).ok_or(Error::Digit)?;
        pointer = (pointer + 1) % (size as usize);
        let mut sum: u32 = 1;
        for p in 0..size as usize{
            sum *= prod[p];
        }