Improve skills/Functional programming

Hi!

I recently checked out other rust projects and noticed how well they're made. I'm fairly new to Rust and after seeing how well projects can be structured and ideas implemented in Rust, I'd love to improve myself. I'm coming from the Java world and Rust is functionally oriented so it's a bit of a pain to realize my ideas with a functional-oriented design paradigm. Are there any good resources to improve my Rust skills (I already read the rust book) and maybe some examples on how to go about implementing certain ideas in a functional way?

Thanks!
Dominik

Is Rust "functionally oriented"?

After a year of using Rust I still use it as if it were C. With an excellent code reviewer, the compiler. With excellent results!

1 Like

Rust can be used in a more functional style to great effect. Some problems lend themselves better to functional idioms. I think the bare-metal type things you do are some of the places where functional idioms aren't as useful. However, to parse code is definitely easier if you write in functional style.

2 Likes

Don't get me wrong. I'm all for picking up as much as I can from the Functional Paradigm.

I'm not sure what you mean by "to parse code". Do you mean for a human to parse and understand the source code?

It is certainly not easier for me to parse a lengthy iter, zip, take, collect, etc with closures thrown in, than good old straight forward procedural if, for, etc.

Hopefully I will get used to it with time. As that seems to be the way the world is headed.

2 Likes

I meant parse as in writing code to parse a source file as part of a compiler frontend.

2 Likes