What does This Week in Rust mean to you?

I am working on a talk about This Week in Rust for RustConf. I'll be going over the history of the newsletter, trends we've seen as the project has evolved, and more. I'd love to hear more from my fellow Rustaceans about what the newsletter means to you.

What have you learned? How did it help you? What do you feel when you see it show up in your inbox (or feed) every week? What do you look forward to about it?

And, for those of you who have had blog posts, tutorials, videos, etc. featured in This Week in Rust, how did it feel? How did it help you and your experience with the Rust community?

And, finally, what do you think This Week in Rust means to the Rust community? I have my own thoughts on this, but REALLY want to hear other perspectives!

4 Likes

Congratulations on issue 400!

I'm so glad to see this question here, because This Week in Rust means a lot to me. I can't remember how exactly I became aware of Rust, but I started playing with it by late 2016 or so, post 1.0. I really dived in by early 2017. After I got the basics via the book and playing around, This Week in Rust was my main source of learning and keeping up for quite some time.

In the beginning, the articles and blog posts were the most important, for seeing new patterns and examples, and just learning about Rust generally. As I started making my own non-toy programs and running into things I wished I could do, the RFC/FCP section grew in importance -- I started tracking issues that I eagerly awaited. Some of those have been realized, and others are still pending!