Using traits inside enums (or how to send different types via mpsc channels)

Hi Folks!

I've run in to a problem with enums and Traits and I have a feeling that I'm missing some significant part of knowledge about enums / traits / types. I'm fairly new to Rust, so it quite possible :slight_smile:

To give you some overview: I'm writing a very simple implementation of actors model. The idea is to have several threads, where different Actors are executed.

Threads are implemented in a way similar to the one described here: Turning Our Single-Threaded Server into a Multithreaded Server - The Rust Programming Language

Every thread has it's own collections of Actors that are executing on it. Actors can receive messages.

Communication between the threads is based on mpsc channels:
let (sender, receiver) = mpsc::channel::<Message>();

Message can be two things:

• New Actor instance that is "added" to the thread
  • Message to one of the Actors in the thread

I've handled it be making Message an enum

enum Message {
    NewActor(Box<dyn Actor>),
    Task {
        actor_id: ActorId,
    }
}

Actor is a simple trait that should be implemented by all Actors
trait Actor {}

And now I have a problem. I constantly run in to different problems trying to define enum with trait as a value of enum variant. Either unknown size (that's why I tried to Box<> it) or, as with the example below (T might not live long enough).

fn add_actor<T: Actor>(&self, actor: T) -> () {
        let message = Message::NewActor(Box::new(actor));
}

I have no idea how to solve it. Should I be using Traits? Should I use dyn Actor, impl? Generics? Am I missing something? Or maybe the whole idea is flawed?

Thank you in advance!

If your challenge is that it might not live long enough, just say that it does:

fn add_actor<T: Actor + 'static>