Help on enums and traits

Hi everyone,

I have taken a working example I found and extended it (I mean broke it) and now I can't figure it out.
I am still a beginner at Rust, but trying out new techniques...

My goal: I want to call exec() on OtherEnumA and OtherEnumB using dynamic dispatch

I have the below working, but there is an extra level of manual "match{}" code that just doesn't seem necessary and I want to find a way around it.

Thanks!!!

link to code: playground

Perhaps you are looking for something like the crate enum_dispatch.

use serde::{Deserialize};
use enum_dispatch::enum_dispatch;

#[enum_dispatch]
trait Executable {
    fn exec(&self) -> String;
}

#[derive(Debug, Deserialize)]
struct Example {
    field: i32,
    #[serde(flatten)]
    an_enum: AnEnum,
}

#[enum_dispatch(Executable)]
enum AnEnum {
    A(OtherEnumA),
    B(OtherEnumB),
}

enum OtherEnumA {
    AAA,
    BBB,
}
impl Executable for OtherEnumA {
    fn exec(&self) -> String {
        "Executing OtherEnumA...".to_string() 
    }
}

enum OtherEnumB {
    XXX,
    YYY,
}
impl Executable for OtherEnumB {
        "Executing OtherEnumB...".to_string() 
    }
}

// I want this to work for types: OtherEnumA and OtherEnumB
fn generic_exec(cmd: &dyn Executable) {
    println!("\t{:?}", cmd.exec());
}

fn main() {
    let a = r#"{ "field": 42, "A": "AAA" }"#;  // Including "A" object
    let b = r#"{ "field": 42, "B": "YYY" }"#;  // Including "B" object

let a: Example = serde_json::from_str(a).unwrap();
    let b: Example = serde_json::from_str(b).unwrap();

println!("{:?}", a);
    println!("\t{:?}", a.an_enum); 
    generic_exec(&a.an_enum);

println!("{:?}", b);
    println!("\t{:?}", b.an_enum);
    generic_exec(&b.an_enum);

}

But actually you still don’t need dynamic dispatch at all then. Change it to

fn generic_exec(cmd: &impl Executable) {
    println!("\t{:?}", cmd.exec());
}