Understanding how references work

I'm new to Rust, looking for some help in understanding how references work.

In the following code, the type of variable: item in the for loop is &i32, because sn is a slice (reference). I understand this.

let n: Vec<i32> = vec![1];
    let sn: &[i32] = &n;
    for item in sn {
        println!("{}", *item); // ok, item can be dereferenced because it's a reference.
    }

But if I change item to &item as below, the type of item becomes i32. How did this happen?
I was expecting the the type of item to be &&i32.

for &item in sn {
        println!("{}", *item); // error: type `i32` cannot be dereferenced
    }

rustc 1.60.0 (7737e0b5c 2022-04-04)

the general syntax for a for-loop is for pattern in expr { ... } where expr is the value we are iterating over and pattern is a "pattern" which will be used to bind variables to the next item.

The simplest pattern just binds a variable to something (e.g. for i in 0..100 { ... } or let x = 42), but you can also use pattern matching to destructure a tuple (e.g. let (head, tail) = slice.split_at(5)) or move out of a reference. That means in for &x in sn { ... } and let &x = &sn[4], the x variable will be a i32 because we've "peeled away" the reference in the original &i32 to get a copy of the value it references (the compiler uses the phrase, "moving out of a reference").