Understanding differences in references

I'm a complete newbie in Rust and I'm trying to understand different kinds of references.
I have an a: HashSet<String> and I want to iterate over it's elements. I can write this code:

for s in a.iter() {
}

This works but I don't understand how, does my String members are copied or moved?
Ok, I tried to iterate with a reference:

for &s in a.iter() {
}

And compiler made me a hint: 'to prevent move, use ref s or ref mut s'. So the third option is to write this:

for ref s in a.iter() {
}

And now I don't understand what is going on with references and iterators in this language.
It would be great if someone can tell me.

2 Likes

The for loop matches an irrefutable pattern against the Some(_) results of the iterator. Your first and last example are semantically equal.

In both cases s will be a string (slice) reference (the slicing business is due to auto-deref).

The iter for a HashSet returns references to T's in the form of Option<&'a T>; the for loop is sugar over calling next() on the iter. As @llogiq said, for String, you get string slices. To answer your question, no copies (String isn't Copy anyway) or moves occur.

Also, the Iterators section of the book expands on it: Iterators

There's quite a number of things happening here. Let's break it down.

First, for clarity, the actual types in your examples:

• In the first loop, s is a &String. (a reference is taken)
  • In the second loop, s is a String. (and it tries to move the string, causing a compile failure)
  • In the third loop, s is a &&String. (yes, really)

The "Item" type of an iterator

This is what you are seeing in your first example:

for s in a.iter() { ... }

The type of s in this case is whatever the Item type is of the IntoIterator impl of your iterable. However...

• By "your iterable", I am referring to the type a.iter() returns, which is... this... thing.