Trait bound not satisfied but implemented

Hello, i need some help with traits. I'm using glium and glium_text_rusttype (gtr) crates to put text on a window, there is a function in gtr that creates a Textsystem struct which needs a Facade trait.

The problem is that the compiler tells me that the trait "Facade" is not implemented for the struct "Display" even though it is (see the images).

I'm not that good at Rust so i don't know if i'm missing something.

Link to the exemple i'm following for adding the text : glium_text_rusttype/hello_world.rs at master · not-fl3/glium_text_rusttype · GitHub

I already tried to run the "hello world" example in gtr and it works, i don't know why it doesn't work when i do it with my code.

Image of my code (left), the error (bottom) and the implemented trait (right) :

Probably a version mismatch. Looking at the online documentation of the latest version of glium_text, its

F: Facade,

bound on the ::new method refers to glium at version 0.23, whereas the latest glium version as of now is 0.32, an incompatible version. Thus, the glium dependency would have been duplicated by cargo, both versions of glium coexisting in parallel and considered distinct crates, and the error message talks about Display of glium@0.32 not implementing Facade of glium@0.23. Go to your Cargo.toml file and adjust the glium version accordingly to 0.23 to fix the problem.

2 Likes

Side note, please post code and errors as text, not images:
```
Code here
```

4 Likes

They're using glium_text_rusttype (a fork) rather than glium_text, but I think this could still be the issue - glium_text_rusttype depends on glium ">=0.29.1, <0.32.0", but there's now a glium 0.32.1 that's been released. I think if they have 0.32.1 in their Cargo.toml, they'd end up in the same situation you described.

3 Likes