Static singleton instance of HashMap and returning reference to stored values

I am very new to Rust. I have a specific problem that has really tied me down. Hoping to get some help from the experts. I will use a simplified case to present the problem.

I have a Products struct that I use to some product information in a HashMap. The HashMap is a singleton static instance that is threadsafe. I used dashmap::DashMap instead of Mutex<HashMap<>>.

Here is the code I implemented.

struct Products {
    items: &'static DashMap<String, Product>,
}

fn products() -> Products {
    static INSTANCE: SyncOnceCell<DashMap<String, Product>> = SyncOnceCell::new();
    Products {
        items: INSTANCE.get_or_init(|| DashMap::new()),
    }
}

impl Products {
    fn add(&mut self, product: Product) {
        self.items.insert(product.name.clone(), product);
    }

fn get(&self, name: &str) -> Option<Product> {
         //This is the function I am having a very difficult time writing.
    }
}

// For the testing purposes I am using a very simple Product struct. My actual use would have very
// complex things to be stored here.
struct Product {
    name: String,
    price: f64,
}

I am unable to write the get() method for Products. I have tried a large number of ways, but none seems to work.

It looks like it is very hard to return a reference to a value stored in a HashMap from a function in Rust. Hoping this is a solved problem.

Really appreciate any help.

Of course it is not – but:

1. You are not returning a reference, are you? The signature of your get() function says: -> Option<Product> – no references in sight in the return type.

2. Clearly, you can't just return a reference into a data structure that synchronizes access to its elements, because how would it know how long you are accessing the element for? It has to return something that calls back to the owning structure when dropped.