Some rocket.rs code from a newbie

Hi everyone, first time here and about my first time touching rust language. To give you a bit of background I have mostly worked with PHP and Java, did some JS code and a bit of C++. I was for a long time interested in rust but I never had the guts to start till now and thought that a good way to get into it is to make something I was familiar with, like an API so I chose to use Rocket.rs.

My code is hosted here
hello_rust

I would like some feedback since I have no experience with Rust and maybe I've done some stupid stuff or at least not "in Rust manner". Or maybe code organization is off. Dunno.. Any feedback is appreciated.

One example I don't fully like is how I export modules, I tried to avoid long namespaces like domain::models::user::User to be like domain::models::User but still being able to separate code in multiple files.

1 Like

I wrote a lot but I didn't see any big problems in your code, you could honestly ignore all of this and be totally fine from what I saw.

You can use assert_eq!(x, y) instead of assert!(x == y).

I write my unit tests in the same file where the thing being tested is, but if you want a separate module for them, you can just make the whole module #[cfg(test)]:

#[cfg(test)]
mod testing;

instead of having to put it in each test file.

You can nest imports:
Instead of

use crate::domain::model::SessionData;
use crate::domain::model::User;
use crate::domain::repository::ResultSession;
use crate::domain::repository::ResultUser;
use crate::domain::repository::SessionError;
use crate::domain::repository::SessionRepository;
use crate::domain::repository::UserRegistrationError;

you can write

use crate::domain::{
    model::{SessionData, User},
    repository::{
        ResultSession, ResultUser, SessionError, SessionRepository, UserRegistrationError,
    },
};
use chrono::NaiveDateTime;
use mysql::{error::Error::MySqlError, params, prelude::Queryable, Pool};
use mysql_common::Row;