My experiences with learning the basics of Rust's module system

These are notes (really an article) about my experience with learning the basics of the Rust module system. It might be useful to the people who are involved with the Rust documentation, or maybe to other learners if they have run into similar problems. (Or maybe it's too long.) Writing this helped me build a model of how this part of Rust works if nothing else. It is a bit stream-of-consciousness, in the sense that I describe the back-and-forth thought-process of trying to learn about this thing. This also involves a pretty haphazard approach to finding and using learning resources.

My background: As far as languages go, Java and Haskell (in that order w.r.t. experience). I have used other languages, but not enough to warrant mention compared to those two. I am still a relative beginner, i.e., no larger projects under my belt.

Problem

I have two rust files in a directory, main.rs and a.rs. I want to use stuff from a.rs in main.rs.

// main.rs
fn main() {
}

// a.rs
pub fn f() {
}

A self-inflicted limitation was that I wanted to learn the bare minimum in order to fulfill this goal. Not in the sense that I just wanted a ready-made, one-off solution. But I didn't want to learn about something building and deploying a Rust library to Cargo in order to use stuff from different files if I didn't have to. Side note: I wonder how common this prioritizing/laziness is among Rust beginners?

Learning about the Rust module system

I already knew that Rust had modules (mod) and imports (use). So the first bet was to blindly - based on previous experiences with unrelated languages - try some variation of use a; in main.rs and (presumably) declaring the public module of a with mod a; or pub mod a;. rustc apparently didn't understand any of that by just using rustc main.

Start of the Rust Book