[Solved] First issue with lifetimes

Hey everyone !

I am trying to make a function that connects to an ssh server and then returns the sftp session.
The issue here is that the ssh session doesn’t live long enough and I don’t understand how to do any of this, I’m completely new to this type of concept.
Maybe I am not thinking of it the right way ?

fn sftp_connect<'a>(account: String, pass: String) -> ssh2::Sftp<'a> {
    let tcp = TcpStream::connect("127.0.0.1:22").expect("Couldn't connect to ssh server");

let mut sess: ssh2::Session = ssh2::Session::new().expect("Couldn't create a NEW session");
    sess.handshake(&tcp).expect("No handshake, no like");

sess.userauth_password(account.as_ref(), pass.as_ref()).expect("Wrong USERNAME/PASSWORD ?!");

sess.sftp().expect("Could not start sftp session")
}

Library used is ssh2.

I would really like to get better at this language but the book didn’t help me in this case because I’m dealing with an external library with it’s own lifetimes.

Thank you in advance!

The Sftp<'_> struct has a lifetime parameter (as you’ve already discovered), but this lifetime refers to the Session from which you created it via the sftp() method. In other words, the Session is the “root” object here (think of it like a factory) - you need to keep it alive longer than your Sftp value.

In the code you gave, the Session is created inside the function but then dies at the end - nothing keeps it alive. The Sftp would be left with a dangling reference back to its Session if the compiler didn’t rightfully error.

So, you need to create a TcpStream first. Then create a Session using that stream. Both of these need to be kept alive longer than the Sftp you create as a third step.

If you need help understanding how to keep those alive then ask away. It’ll depend on the structure of your app so may want to elaborate a bit on that as well.