Rust data structure that is indexed twice; ECS?

I am a long time Java programmer taking an interest to study Rust. My understanding is that in Rust a container owns its stored objects. Suppose I have an enrollment relation that is an association between a student and a course. I want to find all courses a student may have; at the same time I want to find all students a course may have. I can use a hashmap for indexing, but I can't put this enrollment thing in two different hashmaps from my understanding.

Am I looking at a situation where I am cloning the enrollment struct for a secondary index? Can an existing Rust ECS crate more easily help solve this problem?

If you need multiple owners, a reference-counter is the way to do it. The standard library provides one.

More broadly, you seem to be conflating references with a relational model. You can refer to a student by a unique identifier, which is probably small and no big deal to bit-wise copy. Storing references in a collection is almost always not what you want, unless it is a transitory collection in some imperative code block.

3 Likes

The standard library types mentioned are Rc and Arc. If you need to be able to mutate, you'll probably want an Rc<RefCell<T>> or Arc<Mutex<T>>.

What about introducing another level of indirection via a third HashMap?

struct Enrollments {
    next_id: usize,
    courses: HashMap<String, Vec<usize>>,
    students: HashMap<String, Vec<usize>>,
    enrollments: HashMap<usize, Enrollment>,
}

struct Enrollment {
    student: String,
    course: String,
}

Then when you insert a new enrollment, you create an index and update the courses and students tables accordingly.

Here is the rest of my code:

impl Enrollment {
    fn new(course: impl Into<String>, student: impl Into<String>) -> Self {
        Enrollment {
            course: course.into(),
            student: student.into(),
        }
    }
}

impl Enrollments {
    pub fn register(&mut self, enrollment: Enrollment) {