Need help creating a Tree/Node struct

I'm new to Rust and facing the steep learning curve. I am trying to learn how to code certain design patterns using Rust structs that I would normally code as a class in Java or Swift. I am struggling with the correct way to code these. I need help fixing the struct as well as how to call it. I would then like to create a function to traverse the tree and log each node.

Below is one example where I am trying to code a tree/node struct. The Node has a string value, an optional reference to a parent Node, and a vector/list of child nodes. I was unsure as to whether the children should also be references or owned.

struct Node<'a> {
    parent: Option<&'a Node<'a>>,
    value: String,
    children:  Vec<&'a Node<'a>>,
}

impl Node<'_> {
    pub fn addNode(&self, child: &Node) {
        self.children.push(child);
    }
}

fn main() {
    println!("Tree nodes");

let root = Node {
        parent: None,
        value: String::from(""),
        children: Vec<&Node>::new(),
    };

let n1 = Node {
        parent: Some(&root),
        value: String::from("a"),
    };
    let n2 = Node {
        parent: Some(&n1),
        value: String::from("p"),
    };
    let n3 = Node {
        parent: Some(&n2),
        value: String::from("ple"),
    };

println!("n value is {}", root.value);
    println!("n1 value is {}", n1.value);
    println!("n2 value is {}", n2.value);
    println!("n3 value is {}", n3.value);
}

You can't use references to build trees or graphs. References are intended only for giving out temporary immutable views into an existing data structure. Among other things, they enforce that the thing they point at cannot be modified for the entire duration in which the reference exists.

As for owned references (i.e. Box), you also cannot use those because of your parent pointers. Ownership cannot be cyclical, but node.children[0].parent would give you back node, which is cyclical.

This leaves you three options: