Building a tree structure

Hi,

I am a beginner on Rust, and it is driving me crazy!

I am trying to build a tree structure for word completion (it is an exercise in rust, not a productions thing, so bare with me). The idea is that each node holds a letter, and a Vec or for the letters of the next letters for all other words. Here is the code I have so far:

#![allow(dead_code)]
#![allow(unused_variables)]

//#[derive(Clone, Copy)]
struct Tree { node: Node }

//#[derive(Clone, Copy)]
struct Node {
    val: char,
    nodes: Vec<Node>,
}

impl Tree {
    fn new() -> Self {
        Tree {node: Node{val: ' ', nodes: Vec::new()}}
    }

fn insert(&mut self, word: &str) {
        self.node.insert(word) 
    }
}

impl Node {
        let mut cur_node = self;

for c in word.chars() {
            let next_node_op = Node::get_child_node(&cur_node.nodes, c);

match next_node_op {
                Some(mut node) => {cur_node = node;},
                None => {
                    let new_node = Node{val:c, nodes: Vec::new()};
                    cur_node.nodes.push(*new_node);
                    cur_node = new_node;
                    }
                }
        }
    }

fn get_child_node<'a>(v: &Vec<Node>, curr_c: char) -> Option<&mut Node> {
        v.iter_mut().find(|n| n.val == curr_c)
    }
}

fn main() {
}

I get the following compilation error:

error[E0614]: type `Node` cannot be dereferenced
  --> src/main.rs:34:41
   |
34 |                     cur_node.nodes.push(*new_node);
   |                                         ^^^^^^^^^

error[E0308]: mismatched types
  --> src/main.rs:35:32
   |
35 |                     cur_node = new_node;
   |                                ^^^^^^^^ expected `&mut Node`, found struct `Node`
   |
help: consider dereferencing here to assign to the mutable borrowed piece of memory
   |
35 |                     *cur_node = new_node;
   |                     ^^^^^^^^^