Learning Rust from scratch

I want to learn Rust as a complete Rust beginner but am a retired SW Developer.
Which tutorial(s) are recommended ?

I also have Python and C programmes that I would like to integrate into Rust.

Any suggestions most welcome and I thank you in advance for your assistance.

I don't really know about any tutorials, but I would start by reading through The Rust Book. A resource I wish I had when I started with Rust is fasterthanlime's A half-hour to learn Rust (this is in particular helpful if you already know other programming languages).

As I was starting out with Rust someone suggested I try to avoid using references in the beginning, to get to learn everything else about the language first, so I don't need to both fight the borrow-checker and learn all the other basics at the same time. I guess it's different for everyone, but to me that was helpful.

3 Likes

When I was a total beginner I enjoyed listening to https://newrustacean.com/ It touches on a lot of different topics and made me interested to search for more information on each topic.

Having spent decades using a bunch of different languages from Assembler through ALGOL, through C/C++ to Javascript, with many others along the way I found diving into the Rust Book just fine: The Rust Programming Language - The Rust Programming Language

But don't do like me and start building serious programs before having thoroughly worked through it all. By first year of Rust code looks like C with a bit different syntax. Works fine but it's really not the way to go. I still had not come to grips with traits and generics and the more Functional Programming style one can use in Rust.

The next most useful thing I found is the video presentations on Rust by Ryan Levick: https://www.youtube.com/c/RyanLevicksVideos/videos and https://www.youtube.com/c/RyanLevicksVideos/videos. Although the latter tend to be pitched at more of an advanced level.