Is keeping a raw pointer of a stack allocated variable safe?

Is it safe to call the following function, and then use the returned *const i64 freely?

fn returnraw() -> *const i64 {
    let x: i64 = 5;xp
    &x as *const i64
}

I'm not very good at this low-level things, but I would think x gets deallocated from the stack once the function returns, causing the returned raw pointer to point to a location that might get overwritten; however the following function prints the right value for 'x', even tho I try to allocate some variables on the stack after calling the function(which, according to my humble understanding of the stack, should cause the memory pointed to by xp to get overwritten).

#[test]
fn rawpointer() {
    let xp: *const i64 = returnraw();
    let y: i64 = 8;
    let z: i64 = 13;
    println!("x: {}, y: {}, z: {}", unsafe {*xp}, y, z);

}

1 Like

The compiled version of the function allocates all of its stack space immediately - y and z will live above x on the stack.

1 Like

You've got a dangling pointer, so that xp will be pointing at garbage when you dereference it and print it to the screen. Luckily it's only being interpreted as an integer and the memory still belongs to your program so you won't have any overly bad behaviour, but if you returned a *const Vec<u32> instead the results would be completely different.

The rule of thumb with raw pointers is that you should try to follow all the normal rust rules when it comes to borrowing. The borrow checker statically checks for undefined behaviour, whereas with raw pointers that becomes the programmer's responsibility.

Compiling the non-raw version of this on the playground would give you the normal error about a variable not living long enough.

fn returnraw<'a>() -> &'a i64 {
    let x: i64 = 5;
    &x
}

error[E0597]: `x` does not live long enough
 --> src/main.rs:3:6
  |
3 |     &x
  |      ^ does not live long enough
4 | }
  | - borrowed value only lives until here
  |