Is it possible to insert a struct instance with lifetime annotation into a static array?

Hi, I am a newbie of rust. I am trying to implement a global static array (which might be accessed in multi-threads) and insert some struct instances into it. By iterating the array, I can call the functions of these instances to do something. But I met an issue that the the struct instances with lifetime annotation cannot be inserted. The sample codes and error info are below. Could you please provide some suggestions? Thanks in advance!

The workable sample code is here: Rust Playground

The failed sample code is here: Rust Playground

The error info is below:

Compiling playground v0.0.1 (/playground)
error[E0495]: cannot infer an appropriate lifetime due to conflicting requirements
  --> src/main.rs:62:29
   |
62 |             cb_fn: Box::new(self),
   |                             ^^^^
   |
note: first, the lifetime cannot outlive the lifetime 'a as defined on the impl at 51:6...
  --> src/main.rs:51:6
   |
51 | impl<'a> InstTest<'a> {
   |      ^^
   = note: ...so that the expression is assignable:
           expected InstTest<'_>
              found InstTest<'a>
   = note: but, the lifetime must be valid for the static lifetime...
   = note: ...so that the expression is assignable:
           expected std::boxed::Box<(dyn CallbackFn + std::marker::Send + 'static)>
              found std::boxed::Box<dyn CallbackFn + std::marker::Send>

The answer to your title question is "no": a 'static array can only contain 'static instances.
You can "upgrade" structs 'static using mem::forget, but 'forget' is usually s strong indicator that your design is not "Rust-friendly", and you should try other approaches.

Since the array MUST be homogeneous (arrays store lots of copies of "the same" thing), you cannot express that each item has an individual lifetime at compile time. You'll have to do some runtime checks.