Cannot tell the compiler that my struct lives for the whole program

Hi guys,

Beginner here, so far I have been able to resolve problems with rust by myself but have been stuck on this for a day and at this point I need help.

I am trying to create a background thread that will run every X seconds. I have a struct that I need to use some fields from, e.g. at the very least the interval at which to run the thread. However, the compiler doesn't seem to know that my struct lives for the entirety of my program and I have no idea how to specify that. As far as I know you can specify lifetimes to references only, but of course, I cannot return a reference from a function. Thank you in advance.

Playground link: Rust Playground

Code:

use std::thread;
use std::thread::JoinHandle;
use std::time::Duration;

struct A{
    interval: Duration
}

impl A {
    fn new() -> A {
        A { interval: Duration::from_secs(1) }
    }

fn run_interval(&'static self) -> JoinHandle<()> {
        thread::spawn(move || loop {
            thread::sleep(self.interval);
            println!("doing stuff");
        })
    }
}

pub fn main() {
    let a = A::new();
    let th = a.run_interval();

th.join().unwrap();
}

Error:

Compiling playground v0.0.1 (file:///playground)
error[E0597]: `a` does not live long enough
  --> src/main.rs:24:14
   |
24 |     let th = a.run_interval();
   |              ^ borrowed value does not live long enough
27 | }
   | - borrowed value only lives until here
   |
   = note: borrowed value must be valid for the static lifetime...

error: aborting due to previous error

For more information about this error, try `rustc --explain E0597`.
error: Could not compile `playground`.

To learn more, run the command again with --verbose.