Info about C program rewrite in Rust

Hi everyone,

I'm a very beginner about rust.
I read the first 20 chapters and I think that is very interesting.
I have written a Linux init system in C language and
I'd like to rewrite it in Rust.
That said, I'd want to ask you some questions:

1. In this init system, I strongly use
    thread, mutex, signals, unix socket, pipe,
    "select" function to monitor more file descriptors,
    inotify to monitor file system events.
    Does Rust cover them?

2. I implemented a parser which reads the services configuration files
    that have the typical "Section" and "Property" structure.
    Could you advice me any crates to do that?

Some questions about Cargo.
In this init system I use Meson build system to build and install
the program.
Now, I'd to replicate that with Cargo.
I need to run some tasks at compile time and the build script
seems to satisfy this need.

1. In Meson, I can access to the system directories via get_option('sbindir'), get_option('datadir') etc..
    How can I access in the build script to these directories or what is the Cargo approach to that?
  2. Basically, a C header is generated with these paths as macros that the program read it when starts.
    How can I replicate with Cargo?
  3. About the installation the program, in Meson I install bash completions, man pages, icons, etc in those paths manually.
    How should be done with Cargo?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like
  1. Rust has intentionally small standard library. It has some wrappers for pthreads and Linux mutexes, but for anything non basic you do things in Rust the same way you would do them in C, calling the same C functions or kernel syscalls. There are crates like nix that wrap C APIs to be more convenient to use from Rust. But generally there's nothing Rust-specific here.

2. It depends how serious you want to be with the parser. There are parsers like nom if you're inventing a new file format. Or you can use something like serde-yaml or toml.