How to use self while spawning a thread from method

Hello,

I am new to Rust and I am trying to make the following code work. Basically, I need to spawn a thread from a type instance's method and I need to use the self reference inside the thread closure. I am aware that the compiler is complaining because the lifetime of self is shorter than static lifetime, but I'm not sure how to deal with this scenario appropriately. Eventually, I need my thread to be able to access the fields and methods of self. Should I make self static? How? What if I had more than one instance of my type?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Code:

use std::thread;

struct ThreadTest<'a> {

string : &'a str,

}

impl<'a> ThreadTest<'a> {

fn new(string: &'a str) -> ThreadTest<'a> {

ThreadTest {string: string}
	}

fn start (&'a mut self) {

thread::spawn(move || {

self.test();
		});

}

fn test(&self) {

println!("{:?}", self.string);
	}

}

fn main() {

let mut thread_test = ThreadTest::new("this is a string");
	thread_test.start();

loop {};
}
1 Like

There are a few similar topics on this forum, which should be helpful:
https://users.rust-lang.org/search?q=spawn%20thread%20self

Short answer: if the thread is short-lived (finishes before the method's end), use a scoped thread (eg. from the crossbeam crate). If the thread is long-lived, put the fields of your struct (or even the whole struct) in std::sync::Arc. Also, you will probably have to change &str to String.

PS. Put your code in a fence when posting, like that:

```rust
some_code
```
3 Likes

Thank you for your answer. I'm not sure though how to put the whole struct in an Arc. I tried the following but it didn't compile:

// in the implementation of the structure:

fn start (&'a mut self) {

let shared_self = Arc::new(self);

let self_copy = shared_self.clone();

let local_self = &self_copy;

local_self.test();
		});

}

Error is: the lifetime cannot outlive the lifetime 'a as defined on the block