How to start learning rust?

Hey guys, i would like to learn rust and use it for some personal programming stuff.
I have some experience with c/c++ and java but not too much, just what i learned at university. Now im wondering what would be the best way to start.
The Book is probably the first resource to look at? And do the RustbyExample at the same time.
But how do i progress from there? Are there some good and updated tutorials?
Greetings

1 Like

While I haven't done this myself I got it recommended a while ago so it might be worth taking a look at Introduction | 24 days of Rust

3 Likes

Depending on your programming experience in general, you might want to just jump into a new pet project and learn as you code. That's what I did. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

@kondrak, I've also done the same but it's been hard thus far. Not to scare anyone, but I started programming around 20 years ago and Rust is definitely among the hardest programming languages I've been learning thus far. The learning curve is steep, at least for me, probably largely because it's so different (the ownership model being a particular stumbling block in that area). Then again, my use case is rather complex with trying to run it in non-std (without the standard library), integrating it in a custom C-based operating system... It's probably a lot easier to just try and write a random Rust app for Mac, Linux or Windows.

This guide I've found extremely useful, when it comes to understanding the ownership model, and "why" stuff is so different from most other programming languages: http://blog.thoughtram.io/rust/2015/05/11/rusts-ownership-model-for-javascript-developers.html

2 Likes

I saw somebody say that it is actually easier to start with Rust by Example and then go to read The Book because The Book is hard to grasp at the beginning.
I cannot vow for this way of learning, no idea which way is better. And also, doesn't mean that person knows "the right way"...

What I did: