How high level is rust?

Hi people, I'm new to rust and am curious about how high level is rust compared to another languages. I have a list of what languages to compare and I wanna know where you would classify rust among them.
The languages are: C, C++, Objective-C, D, Go, Swift, Pascal, Fortran, BASIC, Cobol, C#, Forth and Java.

When I talk about low and high level language I'm referring to how much control the language gives to the hardware and what has more abstraction levels.

1 Like

Not to be dismissive, but this is pretty well traveled ground - have you tried googling for this? :slight_smile: You’ll get lots of material on this.

Well, rust can technically go as low as assembly, but the beauty of it is the fact it can provide high level abstractions like the ones found in C# (Unfortunately I only have previous experience in C# before coming to Rust), and some from Swift, while still providing the same speed and low-latency of C++. It can also run code similar in control to C or C++ with the unsafe keyword. Its biggest selling point in my opinion is the reference checker -- something that can give the same power as a GC as in languages with a GC without the overhead or complications of a GC.

3 Likes

Rust is weird in that regard — it's both high level and low level.

Half of the time it feels very high-level, like Python or JavaScript. Type inference makes types invisible, memory is managed automatically, and you have closures, iterators and standard library for strings and containers.

But it doesn't hide low-level parts, so you get stack vs heap distinction, machine-sized integers with manual conversion, and ugly bits sticking out like #[no_mangle].

3 Likes