How do I solve this error? "the type [u32] cannot be indexed by u32"

Hello there. I'm pretty new to Rust so I'm struggling even with the most basic things.

I'm building a simple method (gen_these_many_primes) that returns a vector containing the first n primes.

For example, the call: gen_these_many_primes(4) should return the vector vec![2, 3, 5, 7]

This is my implementation:

pub fn gen_these_many_primes(n: u32) -> Vec<u32> {
    let mut primes_vec = vec![];
    let mut current_prime = 2;

let mut current_iter: u64 = 0;
    const MAX_ITER: u64 = 10000;

while current_prime <= n {
        if is_prime(current_prime) {
            primes_vec.push(current_prime);
            current_prime += 1;
        }

// Avoid infinite loop
        current_iter += 1;
        if current_iter >= MAX_ITER {
            break;
        }
    }

primes_vec
}

(Note 1: This method makes use of another is_prime method I've already implemented, which works well. You input a number and returns true if prime and false otherwise. I can post this method if necessary, I just didn't want to make the post unnecessarily long).

(Note 2: I am aware this is not an optimal algorithm, but for now I'm more interested in learning Rust than in optimization.)

So, I'm calling gen_these_many_primes from within another function called nth, which returns the nth-prime in the generated list:

pub fn nth(n: u32) -> u32 {
    let primes = gen_these_many_primes(n);
    return primes[n];
}

For example, the call nth(3) should return 7. nth(0) should return 2.

However, when I call this method, I obtain the following error:

error[E0277]: the type [u32] cannot be indexed by u32

I've run the command rustc --explain E0277 as suggested, and it mentions something about traits, but I don't understand the error very well.

Maybe someone can point me in the right direction.

Forever grateful.

Jose.