Indexing Vec with i32 is necessary

Hi. I'm new to rust. It's a interesting language and I learned a lot from it ^-^.

Recently, I found that rust restricts users to index vectors with unsigned numbers only. However, it's not plausible at all.

During programming, we often need to add an index with a negative offset. Therefore, we should use signed integers to store the index number. Rust programmers frequently use codes like arr[index as usize] to index vectors with integers, which is not safe. Such kinds of casting could lead to underflow if the integer is negative.

Instead of leaving the responsibility of type casting to the user, it's better to allow users to index vectors with signed integers and throws an IndexError at runtime if the number is negative.

But if an underflow occurs you'll most likely get a panic anyway because the number you'll get is too big. Not to mention you should use .try_into() if you're not sure your number is positive.

The problem with this is that vec[0] becomes ambiguous. Is it an i32 or a usize?

Nitpick: Rust doesn't have exceptions, so it won't throw anything, instead you'll get a panic.

8 Likes

In Rust there's no concept of negative offset when accesing vector elements by index. That's what the type system is telling you by using usize rather than a signed integer.

6 Likes

Not stable yet, but to me that sounds like https://doc.rust-lang.org/std/primitive.usize.html#method.checked_add_signed, not "indexing should accept negative numbers".

(That said, I do personally think that array indexing should be allowed with any type -- after all, -1 is no more out of bounds than 18446744073709551615 -- but that can't be done right now because of inference implications.)

As an aside, it's clearly not "necessary" to index by i32, since you can always add .try_into().unwrap().

7 Likes