History and future of futures, futures-preview, std::future?

Hi,

I recently started learning non-blocking async I/O in Rust. Obviously, my research had reached to futures and Tokio so I'm trying to understand Tokio and futures.

My first surprise was there are multiple futures crates. After some research, I got to know the futures 0.1 is the version I have to use for now. And the version 0.2 was yanked and 0.3 is WIP as futures-preview. Got it.

But I found the other, std::future is coming. Is it an effort to include futures crate to standard library? What is the relation of futures-preview and std::future? What is the expected landscape once the both std::future and futures 0.3 are released?

Thank you!

5 Likes

Did you happen to stumble on Tracking issue for async/await (RFC 2394) · Issue #50547 · rust-lang/rust · GitHub?

The tl;dr; is Rust will gain language-level async support (via the async and await keywords) for expressing asynchronous actions. The compiler will synthesize state machines and types on your behalf - these types need some interface to conform to so they can be scheduled and executed by the various event loops/executors/reactors in the wild (tokio being the most well known and used). So, to that end some core types (traits mostly, I believe) need to live in std - notably, Future. If you're familiar with C#, it's quite similar (in spirit) to their async/await syntax coupled with the Task type.

I might be off in some details as I've honestly not kept up-to-date on the bleeding edge of this, but that's the general high-level story here, AFAIK.

5 Likes

Both have the same trait Future, using re-exports. Clicking the src in this doc link. I believe the intent is to keep the absolute minimal in core/std so in all likely-hood you will need Futures crate to create libraries using async functionality and the binary will need some executer too.

2 Likes