Help needed - mutable borrow in a for loop

I am very new to rust and I'm struggling with the following code. From what I understand, this needs to be restructured somehow, but I don't know how.

Note that I can use an iterator instead of a for loop, but this is a simplified version of a bigger piece of code I'm working on where a loop is preferable to an iterator.

struct Rec {
    num: i32,
}

fn modify(data: &mut Vec<Rec>) -> Vec<&mut Rec> {
    let mut ret = Vec::<&mut Rec>::new();
    for j in 0 .. 10 { 
        let mut rec = data.get_mut(j).unwrap(); //<- error is here
        ret.push(rec);
    }
    ret
}

The error is:

error[E0499]: cannot borrow `*data` as mutable more than once at a time
  --> src/main.rs:10:23
   |
7  | fn modify<'a>(data: &'a mut Vec<Rec>) -> Vec<&'a mut Rec>{
   |           -- lifetime `'a` defined here
10 |         let mut rec = data.get_mut(j).unwrap();
   |                       ^^^^ `*data` was mutably borrowed here in the previous iteration of the loop
14 |     ret
   |     --- returning this value requires that `*data` is borrowed for `'a`

There's 2 questions:

1. How to I restructure this. I have no idea
  2. Why doesn't the borrow end at the end of the code block for the for loop?

I've seen other posts offering assistance but I'm too much of a newbie to understand the advice given. Any help will be appreciated.

Once you call get_mut once, the compiler won't let you call it again while the previous result is still alive. Otherwise, you might get two copies of the same &mut T reference, which is strictly illegal. In this case it wouldn't happen since you pass a different index each time, but the compiler doesn't know that; it just follows simple rules with no exceptions.

Instead of get_mut, you can use an iterator, which is guaranteed to return each item at most once:

fn modify(data: &mut Vec<Rec>) -> Vec<&mut Rec> {
    for rec in data.iter_mut().take(10) { 
        ret.push(rec);
    }
    ret
}
2 Likes

Some options: