Help (de-)serializing weird JSON structure

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to Rust, but been developing software for nearly 30 years in other languages. My current task is to support (de-)serialization of a model for a given json structure.

The model should look like this:

pub struct Datagram {
  pub header: Option<Header>
  pub payload: Option<Payload>
}

But the incoming json data structure expects the model to be

pub struct Datagram {
  pub header: Option<Vec<Header>>
  pub payload; Option<Vec<Payload>>
}

which is basically unusable. The json data looks like this:

{"datagram":[{"header":[...]},{"payload":[...]}]}

The background is that the model is defined via an XSD in this format:

<xs:complexType name="DatagramType">
        <xs:sequence>
            <xs:element ref="ns_p:header"/>
            <xs:element ref="ns_p:payload"/>
        </xs:sequence>
    </xs:complexType>

The approach I am thinking about is that each struct with such a situation requires a custom (de-)serializater. Does anyone maybe have a hint for me where I should be looking for? Does serde or another serde crate already provide support in some way to achieve this?

One trick I've used with great success is to manually implement deserialize/serialize via a temporary struct.

When serializing, we can use map() and std::slice::from_ref() to let us go from a Option<&T> to a Option<&[T]> (a reference to one item is always a valid reference to a slice of 1 item).

impl Serialize for Datagram {
    fn serialize<S: Serializer>(&self, ser: S) -> Result<S::Ok, S::Error> {
        #[derive(Serialize)]
        struct Repr<'a> {
            header: Option<&'a [Header]>,
            payload: Option<&'a [Payload]>,
        }

let repr = Repr {
            header: self.header.as_ref().map(std::slice::from_ref),
            payload: self.payload.as_ref().map(std::slice::from_ref),
        };

repr.serialize(ser)
    }
}