For a beginner: The Rust Programming Language or the Programming Rust book?

Hey,
I'm quite new to the rust programming language and want to learn it fully.
For that, I've found 2 interesting-looking books on Amazon:
The Rust Programming Language by Steve Klabnik
Programming Rust: Fast, Safe Systems Development 1st Edition by Jim Blandy
Did someone read one of them or even both? If yes, I'd be happy if you can write me your experiences with the book(s).

4 Likes

The former is also available online at Foreword - The Rust Programming Language, so it's an easy one with which to start.

I haven't read all of the latter, but the parts I have I quite liked. (And it was great sitting with the authors at last year's RustConf :sunglasses:)

What's your history with programming? Different backgrounds might have different preferences between the books.

4 Likes

Recommend buying both.

disclosure: I may be bias in liking the authors involved in both books.

2 Likes

I've been programming Java for 3-4 years. I know many concepts of programming especially object orientated programming. I also tried C++, but I gave up very soon because you can mess it up fast and have no plan why it won't work :sweat_smile:

I really prefer reading paper, so I had to start with Programming Rust since TRPL is not here yet. Programming Rust was excellent. I really felt it explained a lot of the concepts well and had me rolling within a few days, at least to a level where I could understand why things weren't working and could formulate questions to throw out here.

I have TRPL on order, but it isn't going to arrive for weeks, but essentially I am following booyaa and just buying both!

1 Like

I just finished reading Programming Rust, and I have nothing but positive things to say about it. So many things finally clicked for me while reading it. I've heard TRPL is really good too though, so I don't think there is really a wrong choice here!

4 Likes