ESP32 non_std and digital v2 pins and Rust

Hi,

I am new to Rust, probably count as new to embedded but really really old. That out of the way.

I have started on my journey of banning myself from C and C++ so wanted to use rust instead. I have done some rust and understand a few of the concepts but struggling to get going.

I wanted to start with just writing to a TFT as this is relatively easy on my ST32 environment. It's an SPI device but the interface I am using expects a embedded_hal::digital::v2::OutputPin which is from the embedded_hal but I am using the esp32c3-hal which only has hal::prelude::_embedded_hal_digital_v2_OutputPin

When I use this the build fails with

let cs = io.pins.gpio4.into_push_pull_output();

error[E0382]: use of moved value: `cs`
  --> gc9a01-test/src/main.rs:71:55
   |
58 |     let cs = io.pins.gpio4.into_push_pull_output();
   |         -- move occurs because `cs` has type `GpioPin<Output<esp32c3_hal::gpio::PushPull>, 4>`, which does not implement the `Copy` trait

I could

• move to the other hal
  • move to std
    but I want to understand what people do as I would prefer to understand and fix the problem rather than avoid it.

Thanks all,

Promise to help when up to speed.

I'm also new to rust. But this error has all the smell of borrow checker issues, and not a problem of "which crate should I use".

The rust compiler is totally neurotic (with a very good reason, btw) regarding concurrent access to heap memory in between threads or even processes. So a variable that
holds data in the heap must have a clear "ownership" at all times: which block of code "owns"
that variable.

To even start to understand what is happening at your side, I would need the complete message,
that is typically composed of two parts, as the example below:

--> src/main.rs:45:23
   |
39 | pub fn median(the_vector:Vec<u32>) -> (Vec<u32>,f64) {