Cross compiling aarch64-linux-android on macOS

Hi - I'm rather new to rust and have become stranded in a cross compilation swamp of despair. I'm trying to compile this project for android, on my mac ( have tried both an M1 and an intel based macbook pro). It cross-compiles fine on a linux laptop, but I'm struggling to get the mac working. Has anyone seen this before?

Compiling openssl v0.10.38
thread 'rustc' panicked at 'called `Option::unwrap()` on a `None` value', compiler/rustc_codegen_llvm/src/back/archive.rs:361:67
stack backtrace:

It's a fairly standard install - have installed the ndk-bundle using sdkmanager ndk-bundle and set the NDK_HOME env var to the install directory for the bundle.. but nothing much else.

Feels like it will just be a configuration or env var missing.. but I'm unsure where to even look!

It looks like a compiler bug, possibly caused by invalid inputs. That unwrap is most likely from file_name().unwrap(), so the compiler ended up using a path without a file name (/) for some resource.

As for cross-compilation, I expect it's going to be painful on macOS, because macOS doesn't have a standard location for "sysroots" of other operating systems. On Linux the pkg_config crate has some auto-detection of cross compilation, but there's no such thing on macOS.

So on macOS you will have to ensure that pkg-config finds openssl for android, and NOT for macOS. It's not enough to configure NDK for its own use. You need to configure everything for every Cargo sys crate to make it look for android libraries and not look at macOS libraries, and it's specific on crate-by-crate basis, and there's no standard for this.

Thanks for the quick reply!