Help with cross compiling openssl from Windows to aarch64

Hi all,
I'm still new to Rust, hence my question. I'm lost in the dark and don't see any light in any direction (despite spinning in circles) and am hoping I can get some assistance... PLEEEEEASE :slight_smile: .

(Apologies for the long question)

I have a project that is developed on Windows and compiled for Windows and also cross compiled for aarch64. The project has a lot of functionality already implemented and now I wish to do a HTTP call. I've looked into a few HTTP crates and have chosen to use reqwest. So I added the reqwest crate to my Cargo.toml file and did a small experimental code and it builds fine and runs fine on Windows. I then tried to cross compile the project and the build failed.

Upon further reading of the reqwest crate documentation it says that the Requirements for Windows and MacOS are "nothing" and for Linux you need openssl. So I added the openssl crate to the Cargo.toml and when I tried to build I got the following output:

error: failed to run custom build command for `openssl-sys v0.9.67`
Caused by:
  process didn't exit successfully: `C:\projects\src\application\target\debug\build\openssl-sys-10437381c6d14ee4\build-script-main` (exit code: 101)
  --- stdout
  cargo:rustc-cfg=const_fn
  cargo:rerun-if-env-changed=AARCH64_UNKNOWN_LINUX_GNU_OPENSSL_LIB_DIR
  AARCH64_UNKNOWN_LINUX_GNU_OPENSSL_LIB_DIR unset
  cargo:rerun-if-env-changed=OPENSSL_LIB_DIR
  OPENSSL_LIB_DIR unset
  cargo:rerun-if-env-changed=AARCH64_UNKNOWN_LINUX_GNU_OPENSSL_INCLUDE_DIR
  AARCH64_UNKNOWN_LINUX_GNU_OPENSSL_INCLUDE_DIR unset
  cargo:rerun-if-env-changed=OPENSSL_INCLUDE_DIR
  OPENSSL_INCLUDE_DIR unset
  cargo:rerun-if-env-changed=AARCH64_UNKNOWN_LINUX_GNU_OPENSSL_DIR
  AARCH64_UNKNOWN_LINUX_GNU_OPENSSL_DIR unset
  cargo:rerun-if-env-changed=OPENSSL_DIR
  OPENSSL_DIR unset
  cargo:rerun-if-env-changed=OPENSSL_NO_PKG_CONFIG
  cargo:rerun-if-env-changed=PKG_CONFIG_ALLOW_CROSS_aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu