Concerns about embedded real time linux using rust

Hi, my name is Donald Murray, and Im new to this forum. I got my BSEE degree from UCD, Dublin, Ireland in 1982. I also was a professional experienced software engineer when I graduated with my engineering degree. Ive been living in Portland Oregon since 1982. These days i work mostly in embedded systems. Ive been working in high tech for about 45 years. Anyways, i am not fully up to speed with the rust language yet (its on my list). Ive worked with embedded linux in the past. Mostly i prefer not to use linux as the hardware to support it is more expensive. When i do use it, its to get free drivers :-). I just recently took a gander and noticed that people were usimg rust in drivers and threatening to put it in the kernel.

I have some major concerns...please correct me if i am wrong, as im not yet an expert in rust.

1. You are going to need a rust to c converter, as rust compilers may not be available for every microcontroller like C is.
  2. I hear the reason for all this is rusts ability to handle memory leaks. Memory leaks are pretty simple to handle using counters. I know people leave bugs like this all the time, but its because they dont know how to encapsulate their allocations and frees. Bottom line i dont think we need a new language for this.
  3. Memory fragmentation is a bigger problem in all embedded systems, and if i understand it, rust doesnt help much with this. In fact, with embedded systems, i typically dont use alloc/free, but design the system to use arrays of objects and assign these objects to which subsystem requests them and frees them in their array when no longer needed. I am in control of all memory operations as part of my system design. My cable tv company did not have my experience, which is why it has to reboot once day.