Compiler warns for unhandled results

Hello everybody,

this is my first time post, so first of all "Hello, world!".

These days, I am learning rust, and currently, I am working on a unix keylogger, hooked between the keyboard and the unix system (in my case Linux).

The keylogger will run as a background service, which forces me to manage so called PID files. Since I am learning rust, I try write clean code, which includes effort to get rid of all warnings.

So, that's the problem. I have this snippet:

///
/// Reads the content of the PID_FILE.
/// None, if the file does not exist, or if reading fails.
/// otherwise Some(pid)
///
fn read_pid_file(f: &str) -> Option<u32> {
    let mut pid = None;

if std::path::Path::new(f).exists() {
        // read file and fill pid, if file contains value
        let pidf = std::fs::OpenOptions::new()
            .read(true)
            .open(f);

if pidf.is_ok() {
            let mut buf = String::new();
            pidf.unwrap().read_to_string(&mut buf);
            pid = Some(buf.parse::<u32>().unwrap());
        }
    }

pid
}

The warning is the following:

warning: unused `std::result::Result` that must be used
  --> src/os/process.rs:56:13
     |
56 |             pidf.unwrap().read_to_string(&mut buf);
     |             ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
     |
    = note: this `Result` may be an `Err` variant, which should be handled

As you can see, the method will return "None" if something goes wrong, otherwise it will return Some().
Reading the file will return a result, which needs to be unwrapped. I am checking this with the preceding if pidf.is_ok(). But still, the compiler generates warnings to handle the (im)possible case of an error.

How can I get rid of the warning? Is there a better way to write my code? I would like to have a short & clean solution.