Retrieving error from Result<T, Err(e)>

Hi Folks,
I am new to Rust and am trying to figure out Result return types. I am trying to extract the error code returned by fn read_username_from_file -> Result<String, io::Error>. The compiler reports that the Result type is not indexed. If someone could point me in to a solution, I would appreciate it.

Thanks

use std::fs::File;
use std::io;
use std::io::Read;

fn main() {
      println!("{}", read_username_from_file()[1]);
}

fn read_username_from_file() -> Result<String, io::Error> {
    let f = File::open("hello.txt");
    let mut f = match f {
        Ok(file) => file,
        Err(e) => return Err(e),
    };

let mut s = String::new();
    match f.read_to_string(&mut s) {
        Ok(_) => Ok(s),
        Err(e) => Err(e),
    }
}```

Or should be in the Help forum?

Please read our post on syntax highlighting: Forum Code Formatting and Syntax Highlighting

Then edit your post to follow our guidelines. (don't post a new post, but edit it)

Done. Thanks Alice

To crash your program in case of failure, use unwrap.

fn main() {
    println!("{}", read_username_from_file().unwrap());
}

To crash your program in case of success, use unwrap_err.

fn main() {
    println!("{}", read_username_from_file().unwrap_err());
}

You can also print the Result directly.

fn main() {
    println!("{:?}", read_username_from_file());
}

or you can match to do different things in each case:

fn main() {
    match read_username_from_file() {
        Ok(file) => { ... },
        Err(err) => println!("{}", err),
    }
}

otherwise if main returns a Result, you can use the question mark operator to return it on failure:

fn main() -> Result<(), io::Error> {
    println!("{}", read_username_from_file()?);

Ok(())
}

Note that the question mark could also be used inside read_username_from_file.

// this
let f = File::open("hello.txt");
let mut f = match f {
    Ok(file) => file,
    Err(e) => return Err(e),
};

// becomes this